Do Rice Krispies Have Pork In Them?

If you’ve ever had a Rice Krispy Treat, you know that they are ridiculously delicious. The crispy yet gooey texture of these sweet rice cakes makes them satisfying to bite into and stretch out to arm’s length.

They are a true gift for anybody who chooses to eat both plants and meat. However, the treats are not without flaws.

People with dietary restrictions, such as vegetarians and Muslims, may wonder whether they are vegan, vegetarian, or halal. It comes down to a simple question, “Do Rice Krispies Have Pork?” / “Do Rice Krispies Have Pork Gelatin?”

Table Of Contents:

What Kind of Gelatin Does Rice Krispies Have?

Rice Krispies And Pork

Rice Krispies May Contain Pork Gelatin

Usually, these treats contain gelatin derived from pork. This is probably bad news for anybody who wants to eat them but doesn’t consume pork products, as they are not considered halal or vegan. However, the bad news ends there.

There are similar treats on the market that are halal, and there are others that are even vegan. Made Good Crispy Squares are made with only plant-based ingredients, making them halal certified, vegetarian, and vegan friendly. However, making a homemade version of the snacks might be a better alternative if your goal is a healthy vegan lifestyle.

back to menu ↑

Different Types of Rice Krispies Treats

Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats

Kellogg’s is the most popular brand of rice crispy treats, marketing and selling their Rice Krispies brand products for over 90 years. However, their first product in the Rice Krispies brand lineup was breakfast cereal. In 1928, the cereal came onto the market, only giving way to the iconic Rice Krispies Treats 11 years later in a Kellogg’s test kitchen.

This was soon refined to become the famous 3-ingredient recipe we know and love today: crisped rice, sugar, and marshmallow.

Rice Crispy Treats From Other Brands

Other brands, such as Made Good, have created similar treats to varying levels of success. Combining puffed rice with halal marshmallows derived from beef and sometimes plant-based vegetable glycerin, these treats appeal to individuals with dietary restrictions restricting the use of pork.

These treats often contain vegetable or olive oil and are dairy and gluten-free. Some completely exclude meat and animal products, making them an option for those with a vegan diet.

Homemade Rice Crispy Treats

Home Made Rice Krispy Treat

While branded crisp rice treats typically contain pork, you can make your own variant of the snack at home! While there are many ways to make a treat like this, the simplest would probably be to use vegan marshmallows or halal marshmallows. However, you can also try to avoid processed ingredients and make a natural version of the snack if that’s your thing.

The best part about this option is that you can flavor the treats however you like! You can add cocoa, brown sugar, vanilla, freeze-dried fruit, or anything else you want to make your treats!

back to menu ↑

Are Rice Krispies Vegetarian?

Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Are Not Suitable For Vegetarians

Simply put, this brand of crisped rice treats contains pork-based gelatin. This means they are unsuitable for anybody following a halal, vegetarian, or vegan diet. However, while Kellogg’s doesn’t have a solution, other brands do.

As mentioned before, there are vegan crisped rice treats. However, making your own at home might be your best option! However, if you eat meat, a great delicious meal you can make at home is Longhorn Spicy Chicken Bites!

back to menu ↑

Homemade Rice Crispy Treats Can Be Vegan, Vegetarian, or Halal

For a vegetarian, making your own treats can be a great way to ensure it has only ingredients you want to consume and nothing you don’t. This can reduce the stress involved with buying a new snack and hoping it follows your dietary restriction like it says that it does. Making your own rice crispy treats can be as simple or complex as you make it.

You can simply buy vegetarian, vegan, or halal marshmallows and use the tried and true 3-ingredient recipe. If you want to make them from scratch, however, you might want to make your own crisped rice at home.

You will obtain puffier, lighter-crisped rice if you cook the rice first. You’ll need a stove and a good pot with a lid to do this. David Burke Pots and Pans are a great stainless steel option with an interior coating to prevent sticking and an aluminum core for even heating.

back to menu ↑

Do Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Have Pork?

All Varieties of Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats Squares Contain Pork Gelatin

Some of Kellogg’s products only contain beef gelatin and would be halal-friendly, such as frosted pop tarts. However, unfortunately, all of Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats branded products contain gelatin derived from pork. This means they are not eligible for halal certification and are not suitable for those who do not consume pork products.

back to menu ↑


Pork gelatin is found in over 40 different types of products, including dental products like toothpaste, fruit-flavored snacks like gummy bears, and, unfortunately for some, Kellogg’s Rice Krispies. The properties of the gelatin are useful, particularly its texture, for numerous purposes. Luckily, there is a way to obtain glycerin from vegetables, known as vegetable glycerin.

Vegetable glycerin can be used to make products that still look and feel like the standard versions. However, these can be consumed by people who do not use animal-based products.

back to menu ↑

Frequently Asked Questions

How many ounces are in 6 cups of rice Krispies?

According to HowToMakeCerealTreats, the answer is 10 ounces.

What is pork gelatin?

Pork gelatin is a natural form of a protein called collagen. It’s obtained from pork or beef in a strictly regulated process and used in numerous home and kitchen products such as toothpaste and fruit snacks. It’s also used to make Kellogg’s Rice Krispies, particularly the square treats.

Do Rice Krispy Treats expire?

They can become stale between six to twelve months, depending on whether they’ve been opened. An unopened bag or box may retain its freshness for up to a year, while an opened one will probably go stale within six months.

Shanny not only has an exceptional understanding of the foodie mindset and how nutrition works, she has also achieved her Master’s Degree in Education. Outside of her academic achievements, she loves writing food blogs. It's so much more than a list of meals though! Shanny creates helpful cookware guides and delicious recipes that are easy to follow. She does all of this as a food blog writer because she loves it. That's why she spends lots of time testing out different recipes in her own home. She truly is a one-of-a-kind foodie, from her home to yours - with a story to tell, new recipes to indulge in and new tips to tantalize those tastebuds.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply